Melbourne Madness!

Before leaving Wellington I had booked myself into a hostel for 3 nights. To my delight, they offered a complimentary shuttle ride from the airport when you booked 3 nights or more with them. This meant that I had no worries about getting into Melbourne city, I just had to look for the correct shuttle bus. I found it and was transported directly to Home @ St Kilda.

Home is an ok hostel with decent facilities. They don’t provide any frills and charge you handsomely for any you might want. There’s no free Internet access at all but it’s not a bad walk to the library where there is free Internet. The dorms were a middling standard of clean. The shower screen was broken and the bunks squeaked hideously. There are no lockers in the rooms. The staff are very friendly. All in all, an acceptable stay but I wouldn’t go back. The hostel is in St Kilda but a 10 minute walk from anyaction.

I was insanely busy in my first few days in Melbourne so I didn’t get to explore St Kilda at all! Here’s what I did.

After checking into the hostel, I went to find a supermarket for some food. That mission was successful so I then got my mobile sorted. I still had my previous sim card but needed to add credit for an amazing deal from Amaysim. For $39.95 AUD a month you get a contract free package which gives you 4GB of mobile data, unlimited texts to Australian mobiles and unlimited calls to Australian land/mobile phones. It’s a fantastic deal. Once I’d got that done, I started looking for jobs.

My main job hunting resources were http://www.gumtree.com.au and http://www.seek.com.au. I found seek to have a higher quality of job than Gumtree but, with careful filtering, there’s still a decent selection on Gumtree. I found this gem for a start.

image

I spent a good few hours applying for jobs before I had to attend my diet appointment.

Regular readers will know that I have been losing weight for the last 10 years or so but more dramatically in the past 3 or 4 years. I’ve used the Cambridge Weight Plan in the UK and Hong Kong. It has never failed me so I was delighted that it exists in Australia too.

I have a dear friend’s wedding approaching in November. It’s a beach wedding on Boracay, in the Philippines, and I want to be my thinnest ever for the event (and associated photos). Cue the trusty Cambridge Weight Plan.

It’s a meal replacement style diet managed by a consultant whom you see every week for your products and your weigh ins/measurements. You can’t buy the products anywhere other than a consultant and they’re all trained. It’s a really supportive system that works fabulously. I went to meet my consultant and pick up my products. My consultant is based in Brighton which you can find a couple of KM south of St. Kilda. She’s a lovely lady called Mandy Smith, a fellow Brit! Brilliant!

After that, I’d made an appointment to see a room in a house after seeing it advertised on couchsurfing.org in the Melbourne section. I didn’t want to stay in a hostel any longer than I had to. I trotted off from Brighton to Ormond. Ormond is a lovely suburb about 4km east of Brighton. I liked the room and the housemates, they liked me and offered me the room. Hoorah!

During all this being busy, I’d received an email inviting me to interview for a job the next day. I kid you not when I say I’m an efficient person when I need to be.

Went to the job interview (for door to door sales with The Smart Group) the next day and was offered the job. I started the job training the day after that.

Busy doesn’t really cover it does it?

The adventure continues next time.

Leave a Reply

