Vietnam Visions – Visit 3

After Nha Trang I took another overnight bus with Hanh Cafe to Huê (pronounced hoo-ay). Again, the bus was an uneventful ride that got me to my destination in a safe and timely(ish) fashion. I stayed at the Huê Backpackers Hostel. The dorm was clean and the happy hour was fierce.

I only had a single day and night in Huê so I had to make the most of it. I hired a scooter (with driver included) and started at the Citadel. It’s a pretty big place. Here’s the main building with a suspicious looking tourist posing.

image

There’s many buildings in the citadel complex which were used by the emperor and his family. They included living spaces and relaxing spaces. I particularly liked the pond complex you can see below.

image

The grounds included many resting places as you walk around. I took a rest from the sun under one of these bad boys.

image

A lot of the complex has been restored and you can attend a traditional music and dance show twice a day. Your ticket also includes entrance to a museum a short walk away from the main citadel. The museum is full of items recovered from the citadel and associated buildings and ranges from pottery to ceremonial weapons. The entrance fee to the citadel feels a little more acceptable when you consider it includes the museum too.

After the citadel, I was driven down by Perfume river to a secluded Pagoda.

image

In the grounds of the pagoda there is also a temple which plays host to a relaxing golden Buddha. You can see him chilling in his glass case.

image

The temple is set back from the river and surrounded by nicely landscaped gardens.

image

The pagoda is also free entry which makes it all the sweeter to wander around. It is a little far out of town (about 5km) but you could easily cycle it or hire a moto.

The next place I was taken to was the tiger fighting arena. I was a little naughty and climbed up and over the barrier to walk around the top of the arena. Back in the day, the emperor would come to watch tigers and elephants fight it out in the arena. Here’s the main staircase up.

image

There’s a small, and very old looking, temple near to the arena. Here’s the entrance gate.

image

There are some amazing views of Perfume River in Hue. My scooter driver took me to an area that had previously been used as an underground shelter. It was beautifully secluded and gave a great view down the river.

image

We stopped at a village where I saw incense sticks being made which was interesting. The actual incense part is a very thick paste which is rolled over a wooden stick. When dry it turns hard and resembles the incense I’m used to seeing. I did not realise how incense sticks were made before and I even got to have a go at making one myself.

image

Huê is a beautiful City to visit and I’m pleased I spent a day there but I think a day was enough.

2 thoughts on “Vietnam Visions – Visit 3

  1. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

    • Thanks for the heads up! Unfortunately I understand nothing about the WordPress theme thingy and why it might do that but I’ll fire off some emails to technical friends now and see if they have any bright ideas. Pleased you enjoy my ramblings!

Leave a Reply

