Vietnam Visions – Visit 2

I took my first sleeper bus from Ho Chi Minh north to Nha Trang. I was very surprised at how fancy the bus was. See for yourself.

image

The seats were swanky. They sat up, laid flat and reclined to various angles in between. I was very pleasantly surprised by the sleeper bus as I’d heard mixed things about them ranging from good to horrific. The company I travelled with was called Hanh Cafe and I was pretty happy with their service. You can buy what’s called an ‘open tour’ ticket with Hanh Cafe which entitles you to take their busses to any of their destinations providing you book in advance. Most hostels can book for you which is good. I didn’t take an open tour ticket as I wasn’t planning on stopping at enough places to make it worthwhile (it was cheaper for me to just buy the single tickets I needed than to buy an open tour one).

The drive was uneventful and I arrived safely in Nha Trang.

Nha Trang is a fairly quiet beach town but that doesn’t mean there’s nothing to do. There’s a large water park you can visit a cable car ride away. You can also snorkel and dive around Nha Trang. There is plenty to do in Nha Trang but I did not want to do anything. I wanted to lay on the beach and read my book. This is a completely viable activity in Nha Trang. The beach is beautiful. I spent three days on the beach and swimming in the sea. It was as hot as hell and even factor 50 did not blot out the sun for too long. Go prepared for heat with plenty of water. Also be prepared for beach hawkers. They will try to sell you everything from lobster to bracelets.

When the sun sets, you can either continue drinking on the beach or leave the sand for a local watering hole (which are in plentiful supply). I managed to find an open mic in one of the pubs and sat listening to a variety of cover versions which made me feel happy.

There’s plenty of eating spots too, both local and foreign. I ate at a really good Indian cafe just down the road from my hostel called Omar’s Tandoori. It was the third best Indian I’ve ever had (1st being in Hyderabad, 2nd being Brick Lane).

I stayed in a very lovely hostel called Mojzo Inn. It’s a five minute stroll from the beach, a good breakfast (which has a great view) is included, the WiFi is great and the staff are amazingly friendly. I would definitely recommend it as somewhere to stay in Nha Trang.

I didn’t take any photos because I was too busy lazing around but take it from me, it’s beautiful. Nha Trang is worth a stop if you’re in Vietnam.

2 thoughts on “Vietnam Visions – Visit 2

  1. John says:

    You are very lucky, however I would not recommend this company to anyone, the bus was crawling with mini-cockroaches, the staff where extremely rude, they overbooked the bus and some people where sleeping on the isle, they stuck me at the back of the bus ( im 6ft3 ) and would not recommend this seat to any westerner as they where not designed for anyone taller that 5ft8. What im most saddened about was the staff however, they where horrible not the Vietnamese friendliness I am used to.

    • So sorry to hear your experience was rubbish! It’s really hit and miss in Vietnam I found. Some of the Vietnamese were lovely and others were horrid. I got chased out of a food shop one night. I’d eaten there the night before and done nothing different the second night but got yelled at and pushed out the door!

Leave a Reply

