If the IT thing doesn’t pan out I can do this instead

People who know me well will know I am a bit of a flake. I like to think I have achievable plans, aims and ambition but really my only true ambition is so completely out of reach it may as well not be one. So, I bounce from job to job, get bored around the golden 12 month mark and move on. There’s really no rhyme or reason behind the jobs on my CV other than I fancied it at the time. I’m a little rubbish like that.

I have very few constants in my life. I like to mix things up. I will almost always be game for going somewhere new and meeting a new crowd when my fiscal situation permits it. When my bank manager says “No, you can’t go out this week”, I have limited options for amusing myself. When the pinch sets in, I normally head straight for the baking utensils. As the pinch happens fairly regularly, I have become quite good at baking.

My show cake is a Victoria sponge with jam and butter cream icing in the middle. I make them as birthday cakes mostly. Depending on how nice they look will depends on if I cover them in icing. Here’s my classic ‘sprinkle of icing’ Victoria sponge.

Recently, I have ventured from fairy cakes to cupcakes. Then I branched out into Icing the cupcakes. Here’s a batch of my first attempt. They were iced with a piping bag and star shaped nozzle.

The first issue I came across was getting the butter cream icing the correct consistency. You need to make it a little softer than you would if you were using the butter cream as a filling. Initially, I made the butter cream far too firm and ended up having to add milk in order to thin it out. Once the consistency was correct, the decorating began!  They were a bit squiggly in places as I hadn’t used a piping bag for donkeys years but, overall, a very good attempt. I heard only good reviews about them. I also over baked the cakes a little so resolved to not make the same mistakes twice. Roll on the second batch.

The cakes were much better baked, but I made the icing too firm and felt too lazy to empty the piping bag again.

In summary, I think I’ll bake cakes for a living if everything else goes wrong.

2 thoughts on “If the IT thing doesn’t pan out I can do this instead

    • I love Tea and Tattle near the British Museum but you can never really go wrong with any of the cake sellers at Borough or Broadway markets. Enjoy ALL THE CAKE

Leave a Reply

