Oops, I did it again, again………..

That’s right. I didn’t blog for an eternity, again. I’m sorry. I have two blog worthy things to tell you. They are, about my job, and about my band. I’ll tell you all about the job situation in this post and about the band in another blog.

So, last you all heard, I was waiting to start with the London Ambulance Service as a Student Paramedic. This dream went sour about three weeks ago when I received a phone call from the recruitment centre to inform me that I had not been successful and to try again next year. So, that was six months, £1100 and a lot of dreams down the toilet. Apparently jumping through every hoop they set in front of me for six months was simply not enough for them.

However, it was not all doom and gloom because, whilst I had been hanging on for the ambulance service, I had received a phone call from the manager of the charity shop where I used to volunteer. She had asked me to come and interview for an assistant manager role within a British Heart Foundation Furniture and Electrical store. At the time, I had been diligently adhering to the Ambulance Service’s requests so had been honest and explained the situation. She was very understanding though and asked that I get in touch if I changed my mind. So, as you can imagine, I felt as thought I had an ace in the hole as it were. I gave her a call, praying that the post would still be available. Low and behold, it was so I gratefully accepted the invitation to interview.

I was delighted to get through to the second round of interviews and I was offered the job. Brilliant! So now, I am back into retail (which I am a little ashamed to admit, I missed horribly) and training to go into my band new store. It’s exhausting but extremely good fun and rewarding. I am truly looking forward to what the future holds now. It’s been a bit of a rocky road for me as I tried to find my niche but I finally feel like I am on the right track and I intend to make the most of this opportunity.

Leave a Reply

