Oops, I did it again

I promised to finish the Download festival update and then i got very busy and didn’t. I actually have an awful lot to update so I shall finish Download and then continue with the other jolities.

Day 2, Download Festival, Donnington park 2009.

Today was the day I had come to the festival for really. I had heard of the bands playing on the second stage so I picked a nice spot and settled down to sleep through the bands I didn’t want to see. This was the sky above the second stage. It was truly glorious and I am pleased to share it with you.

I slept fairly successfully under the gorgeous sun until about One o’clock when ‘In Case of Fire’ arrived on the stage. This is a band I really did enjoy. Very powerful performance as far as the music went but stage presence was somewhat lacking. I did eventually get bored with watching them so laid back and simply listened instead. It was the more enjoyable of the two options.

Fightstar followed. I was always dubious about this band because the one with the bleached blond hair (Formerly of Busted) heads up the band. Busted made terrible music and I was very worried this would repeat itself but with more guitars and louder drums. I was mistaken. Fightstar are actually very engaging with some immensely catchy tunes. I also began to appreciate how soul destroying being in Busted must have been for the blond haired boy and what a crappy decision it would have been to decided to ditch his two friends in order to follow his dream. Hats off to you Mr hair bleaching man.

Static-X were possibly the loudest band at Download according to my boyfriend, but I snoozed through them. Sorry!

The Answer provided me with very 80’s glam rock throwback enjoyment before You Me at Six came on. I was really looking forward to this particular band but again, I was disappointed by one of the three headline acts but just for the second stage this time. The music was fine, the performance and crowd engagement was awful. I would rather have listed to them on my MP3 player than see them live again. Maybe they were having an ‘off’ day, I don’t know but I shan’t be rushing to see them again.

Chris Cornell was effectively the ‘warm up’ act for the headliner. Most people know him from Soundgarden and Audioslave but he is apparently having a crack at the solo thing. He basically sang well, his band were very good but he drew a lot on his soundgarden/audioslave portfolio. He didn’t perform his James Bond theme song though which disappointed me as I really like that one. Anyway, here’s a snap of the band and stage.

But what we had really all been waiting for was The Prodigy. They were a little late coming onto the stage so the crowd amused itself with a ‘bottle fight’. I caught some of it on camera so I thought I would share.

Once they did arrive on the stage, the crowd exploded and you could almost feel the energy oozing from the stage into the crowd. They were truly electric. Here’s some snaps.

There are simply no words to describe how mind blowing amazing The Prodigy were. They had a perfect blend of old and new material. They performed beautifully and one of the singers is completely fearless. he launched himself into the crowd on several occasions and had a fleet of worried looking security guards charging after him. I also videoed a little of there set and you can have a look at that below if you want to.

And so ended day 2. We tramped back to the tent and went to sleep wondering what tomorrow would bring.

Leave a Reply

