Download Day 3

On the third day of download my true love brought to me……………………………three great bands! It was basically retro day on the main stage of Download and I couldn’t wait.

I didn’t really want to see anyone other than the headliners on the main stage so I spent almost the entire day looking around all the weird and wonderful shops inside the arena. My favorite one was a shop selling boots. By boots, I mean metal and leather encrusted stilts. They were just stunning. They also sold high heeled girly shoes also with the metal and leather. It was all very crazy but I enjoyed it immensely. I headed back to the main stage for ZZtop.

There are three words to describe ZZTop. Ancient but AWESOME. Just plain old school rocking out! They had the most wonderful synchronised guitar swaying I have ever witnessed. They really had the crowd’s attention foe every second they were onstage. Brilliant performers. All those years  pay off. They’re just plain cool dudes.

Whitesnake were all the best bits of glam rock but in 2009. Loved it! I didn’t know a single song but I didn’t need to. The sheer overwhelming fabulousness of the singer was enough for me. Long hair, big sleeves. It was all good.

Lastly it was Def Leppard. I stayed for about 5 songs but was really flagging. The toll of sleeping in a tent and eating fast food all week had really knocked me for six so I headed back to the tent early.

We got an early night overall as the coach booked to take us back to London left at nine in the morning the next day. And that meant we had to be up early to pack the tent and tramp to the coach park. Conveniently it rained that night and packing the tent in the wet whilst avoiding piles of vomit is not the best thing to be doing. Also, other campers had run a mock during the night and stolen my Bee! You remember the bee i told you about right? Well luckily a quick sweep by the boyfriend located the bee in a bush so I cleaned him and brought him home too. I was very very pleased to be on the coach and winging it home.

There ends the Download adventure. It was good but I won’t be doing it again.

Leave a Reply

