A Loaded God Complex, Cock it and Pull It

On Friday I went to see Fall Out Boy play live at the O2 arena in Greenwich with a friend. Neither of us had been to the O2 arena before so we didn’t fully know what to expect. I don’t think either of us expected to emerge from the tube station and just be at the arena though. My friend managed to take a good shot of the outside

We were quite surprised by the amount of bars and restaurant’s inside the O2. There really was an enormous amount of choice in there as well as a multiplex cinema. It’s quite an impressive set up they have in there. i can see how you would make a gig in the arena into an almost whole day affair once you got in there but that wasn’t our prerogative.

We were confronted with several huge signs telling us quite clearly ‘No camera’s or recording equipment past this point’ but we took in a camera anyway and I’m pretty sure we won’t have been the only ones. Anyway, we queued and filtered our way into the arena and bought some drinks at the expected horrific over pricing but it was all in the spirit of things. There were also men and women around the standing floor area and in the stalls with buckets on their back who would sell you cold beer. Highly ingenious it a little dubious. We went to the proper bar for our drinks.

The arena wasn’t as bit as I was expecting if I am honest. Admittedly the seating went very very high up into the roof but the floor standing space really wasn’t enormous but that was all the better for us because we were standing and could therefore manage to get a little bit closer to the front. My friend however was a rock concert virgin so I had to be gentle with him. I have ample experience of working my way through a packed crowd to get to the front barriers of a gig but it’s sweaty and results in bruising. My friend was not in for that so a nice comfortable middling position was settled upon where we wouldn’t get squashed and/or covered in someone elses sweat.

The first support band was called Hey Monday and if we’re honest, we really didn’t care for them. It was a little like Hannah Montana with guitars and drums. We listened and clapped but were pleased when they’d finished their bit. The other support band introduced themselves as Kids in Glass Houses and they were much better. They had a set of much catchier tunes and you could hear what the lead man was singing which was all an improvement on Hey Monday. But of course even they could only do so much to please us as we were all about Fall Out Boy.

They came on and were brilliant. They had some pretty cool effects too. At one point the stage went dark and all their guitars illuminated which was pretty funky. They also had some fairly impressive pyrotechnics going on and with each pop of them you could feel the heat. Here’s some action shots taken by my friend.

Fall Out Boy truly played well and the singer was very good indeed. I have always liked his voice but worried how he would sound live and the result is – he still sounds pretty freaking good so was very pleased. Here’s a short video of the chorus of the song ‘Sugar, we’re going down’.

I was however NOT pleased with the crowd. the crowd was awful. There was barely any movement in the form of dancing/rocking/moshing. I have been to an admirable number of rock concerts before ranging from Franz Ferdinand to Greenday to Nickelback to Editors to Foo Fighters to P!nk and so on and so on and I can hand on heart say that the crowd at that Fall Out Boy gig was the least engaged I have EVER seen a group of ‘fans’. I tried to have my own fun and dance around a bit but simply got daggers shot at me from the people surrounding me. I really do take my hat off to Fall Out Boy for not seeming to lose heart and give in with the crowd being a horrible as it was. I guess it’s a function of having a large and ’emo’ teenage fan base who don’t want to sweat or throw their hair about too much. It was a very sad state of affairs and actually spoiled my enjoyment of the gig a bit because I couldn’t even have my own fun due to the perfectly preened people around me really looking as though they may murder me if I continued. but I’ll leave my rant there because I really could go on about how despicable the crowd’s behaviour was for quite a long while.
All in all we have an excellent time and I got a very cool hoodie as a souvenir.

Summary: if Fall Out Boy come back to the UK any time soon, I’ll go along again, plough to the front and show the emo kids what it means to ROCK THE F**K OUT

One thought on “A Loaded God Complex, Cock it and Pull It

Leave a Reply

